Odion Ighodalo, Asisat Oshoala, Victor Osimhen Make CAF 2019 Awards Shortlist | Check out the Full List

The shortlist of nominees from various categories of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) awards 2019 have been unveiled.

The shortlist, which was decided by votes from CAF Technical and Development committee, and a panel of media experts, with emphasis on performance during the year under review 2019, had Saido Mane, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, and Mohammed Salah top the list.

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala was nominated alongside South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana for the Women’s player of the year award, while Super Eagles players, Samuel Chukwueze and Victor Osimhen have also been nominated for the young player of the year award.

The award winners for each category will be announced during the CAF Awards ceremony on Tuesday, 7 January 2020, at the Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt.

The event will celebrate African footballers and officials who have distinguished themselves in 2019.

Check out the full shortlists below:

Player of the Year

André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)

Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)

Women’s Player of the Year

Ajara Nchout (Cameroon & Valerenga)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Beijing Phoenix FC)

Interclubs Player of the Year

Anice Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)

Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & RS Berkane / Al Ain)

Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek)

Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

Krépin Diatta (Senegal & Club Brugge)

Moussa Djenepo (Mali & Southampton)

Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria & Villarreal)

Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)

Men’s Coach of the Year

Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal)

Christian Gross (Switzerland – Zamalek)

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)

Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia – Esperance)

Nicolas Dupuis (France – Madagascar)

Women’s Coach of the Year

Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

Clementine Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of the Year






Women’s National Team of the Year


Côte d’Ivoire


South Africa


About the author


For the hottest celebrities updates, mixtapes, videos, music, beats and news of 2019, updated daily

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment